Magickware\’s Pagan Book Reviews

About the reviews

We believe that in order to buy a good book you have to know what’s in it first. That’s why here at Magickware we review new Pagan and Wiccan books. Titles are listed in reverse chronological order. To make your purchase easier for books you want they are linked directly to amazon.com.

How the books are reviewed:

There are several criteria that I use to review books. First and foremost is how useful the book is for the general Pagan audience. Next, I try and determine whether the book is good for a beginner or advanced audience, how closely a book follows Pagan concepts of right and wrong as I understand them. (ie. Harm none and the Law of return)

Finally, is how interesting the book is on its own merits. Poorly written text, poorly edited text or poorly bound physical books will not get as high a recommendation as others that are better presented. After all, the readers deserve a quality product.

Books from know vanity publishers will not be reviewed. I have a limited amount of time to devote to book reviews and books from vanity publishers usually are poorly written, edited and bound. Self published books are reviewed if they appear to be of good physical quality and are available at amazon.com or other distribution outlets.

If there is a new book that you would like reviewed please contact us with your request. Only books that are less than a year old are reviewed. If your book was published beyond this time, please save your time and money and do not send it to me. (Publishers and authors can send review copies to the snail mail address on the contact page. We do not pay for review editions, COD packages will be refused.)

Search amazon.com for books on angels All titles (books and other items) on these pages may be ordered through Amazon.com. Please click the title of the item you wish to purchase. As an Associate of Amazon.com, we receive a small fee for referrals to items sold through our site. Thank you for your patronage.

8 Comments »

  1. Do you review fiction? Vila SpiderHawk

    Comment by Vila SpiderHawk — November 1, 2007 @ 4:05 pm | Reply

  2. We review PAGAN themed fiction where the Witches are the good guys.

    Comment by magickware — November 1, 2007 @ 6:34 pm | Reply

  3. Hi, i like your site and i ll be back 😉

    Comment by Ivan — November 29, 2007 @ 4:14 am | Reply

  4. Hi!
    My name is Courtney McLaughlin and I have been devoted to the Goddess since I read The Mists of Avalon as a teenager. I just started working for an independent publishing company, Quadrille, that publishes Wiccan and pagan books. I’m going to send you a complimentary copy of Titania Hardie’s Good Fortune and how to attract it via snail mail so you can review it if you have time. I just started a blog about the book at http://attractgoodfortune.blogspot.com so reviewers and readers can share their experiences using the book.
    Thanks!
    Courtney

    Comment by Courtney McLaughlin — March 3, 2008 @ 12:55 pm | Reply

  5. Good afternoon! I’m sorry to contact you through here, but there was no email contact. I’m going around to all the bloggers/freelancers to let them know about our new book by a local author, Wealtheow by Ashley Crownover. This title is an extension of the famous classic Beowulf told from the female perspective of Wealtheow, Queen of the Danes. We’d love to send you a complimentary copy for possible review consideration on your blog of this book. We’re trying to get the word out to folks who might be interested in this fantastic version of Beowulf, so I hope you don’t mind me dropping you a line to let you know about our book! If you would be interested in receiving a complimentary copy, please let me know the physical address where I can send it to and I’ll drop it in the mail today! I appreciate the attention you’ve given to my note and I hope to hear from you soon!
    Thanks,
    Liz

    Comment by Liz — March 25, 2008 @ 3:07 pm | Reply

  6. As stated above, complimentary review copies can be sent to the address listed on the contact page. Please review the ‘How books are reviewed’ section if you have any questions. Blessings, Lyon

    Comment by magickware — March 25, 2008 @ 4:47 pm | Reply

  7. Hello:

    I recently wrote a book titled Sea Witch. I was wondering if you would like to write review on it. I can send you a free ebook. Thank you.

    Sincerely,
    Wendy Joubert

    *The Enchanted Complex*
    An Online Pagan, Wiccan, and Witchcraft Store
    http://www.enchantedcomplex.com

    *Sea Witch*
    by Wendy Joubert
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/0981743307
    http://www.createspace.com/3341686
    http://www.lulu.com/content/2351532

    Comment by Wendy — April 25, 2008 @ 1:31 pm | Reply

  8. Hi.

    I’m writing from Crossing Press to tell you about a new book we’re publishing in October called The Good Cat Spell Book. It’s a fun new title about how to cast spells and tell the future using the help of your cat. The book is full of beautiful line drawings of cats; plenty of folklore; over fifty ethical spells to attract love, happiness, and wealth; hints for understanding your cat (based on her or his behaviors, physique, astrological sign, and aura); and a unique oracle board which the cat will use to point out the answers to our most burning questions. This books is not only a sweet addition to any Pagan library — it’s also a way for cat owners to interact with their familiars and to enhance their own happiness, as well as the happiness of their furry domestic friends.

    If you live in the United States and you think you might be interested in reviewing this book, send me a mailing address and I’ll get you a review copy.

    Cheers!

    Comment by Ingrid — July 28, 2008 @ 4:11 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: